3 Ways To Maintain Your Healthy Lifestyle (My Current Journey)

20160927_184857-1.jpg
Last night’s dinner: Romaine lettuce, organic pinto beans, 1 avocado, tomatoes, cucumbers,  1 baked chicken tender strip (chopped), a splash of fresh-squeezed lemon juice & sriracha hot chili sauce. Yummy!

I LOVE food! I love it in many ways, but have been working on my eating habits. Since the last winter, I’ve been working on ways to get healthier and lose weight. I have a set goal for my weight loss and intend to lose these pounds within a 8 month period. So what’s helping me create gorgeous, tasty meals you see here? It’s these few things I’m taking into consideration.

1. Saying NO even when it seems impossible.

This can be such a struggle especially when someone is next to you with fried chicken and have enough to offer you a wing. I love fried chicken, but I know it’s not what’s best for my internal health. If you expect to reach my goals, you have to say NO and go the other way. When I think of my family members (including my deceased mother) who were obese and died from a serious illness, it really makes me afraid to go down the same path. Man-made foods taste great, but they’re not worth a premature death.

20160923_1204321
Vegan Burritos with mushrooms, chick peas, avocado, cilantro & salsa.

2. Surround yourself with kindred spirits who are serious  about their health.

It’s so important to be surrounded with people who are on a similar journey. This was complicated for me especially while living in Dallas, TX. I was surrounded by that 97% who complained about everything. They complained about their jobs, neighborhoods, the news, weather and the yellow shirt they wore when they wanted it to be blue. You name it! This is what I would hear everyday. So what started to happen was I began to isolate myself.  People weren’t as sociable either. So it was very challenging to connect with the right people. At this time, I was learning more about the mind, body and soul. Can you believe that some people would prefer to stay ignorant instead of make adjustments in their lives? I found myself trying to inform people on healthy eating habits, water intake, having your body in an alkaline state, etc. Those people weren’t listening, and could care less about my passion. As I started to see the pattern, I was no longer confused. I realized that I was talking to the wrong people. So when you’re on the right path regardless of what others think, the universe will send you the right spirits. This has happened to me first hand. Since I’ve changed my environment, I’ve been able to work on my goals. I exercise more and have been able to get great tips for cooking, Have those food for thought conversations and it’s reminded me of who I AM.

20160922_1838231
Mostaccioli pasta with fresh garlic cloves, avocado, tomatoes, onion and marinara sauce.

3. Make sure becoming healthy is something YOU are passionate about.

One thing I’ve learned for sure is this. Your change is for you and you only. If others are influenced by your positive changes, that’s a great thing! You’ll be changing lives and becoming a better person all at the same time. This can be very rewarding and can eventually pay off. I’ve learned to not force by passions on others.. When a person is ready to change their lifestyle habits, you will know in due time.

Leave a Reply

